Winners of Times Auto Awards 2016

Winners of Times Auto Awards 2016

The Times Auto Awards are among the most prolific in their sphere and have been a fixture on the Indian automotive scene for well over a decade, recognising the best of the Indian automotive industry. This year the Times Auto Awards 2016, powered by evo India and Fast Bikes India magazines, was held at the Taj Land’s End in Mumbai on March 16, 2017. And the winners are…

Motorcycle of the Year upto 110cc
The winner in this bread and butter class of motorcycles is the TVS Victor for proving that a commuter motorcycle need not compromise on dynamics and excitement.
Motorcycle of the Year upto 160cc
Made from the steel of the legendary INS Vikrant, the Bajaj V15 wins this award for bringing a new lease of life to this segment with a proposition where practicality is not offered at the cost of style and comfort.
Motorcycle of the Year upto 250cc
Blessed with brilliant dynamics and a willing motor, the TVS Apache RTR 200 4V outrode its rival in this category, going on to become the Motorcycle of the Year upto 250cc.
Motorcycle of the Year upto 500cc
The winner of this category is defined by its company as all the bike you’ll ever need. A brand new product from the oldest continuously operating motorcycle manufacturer in the world, the Royal Enfield Himalayan is the bike to own in this class with its unconventional looks, go anywhere abilities and the legacy of over a hundred years.
Scooter of the Year
Swag is the name of the game in the world of scooters with Yamaha’s uber stylish Cygnus Ray ZR winning the Scooter of the Year crown.

Mini Motorcycle of the Year
This award goes to the funky Honda Navi. Apart from the Thrill of Riding it is able to offer by the bucket load, the Navi has also spawned a brand new category of two-wheelers that has never been seen before in India.
Neo-retro Motorcycle of the Year
It is powerful. It is gorgeous. It is sporty and yet it is such a classic! None will challenge the claim of the Triumph Thruxton R to the title of the Neo-retro Motorcycle of the Year.
Cruiser of the Year
Powered by a brand new Milwaukee Eight V-twin, the Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special cruises away with the crown in this category with its combination of power, luxury, touring abilities and legendary road presence.
Adventure Bike of the Year
A superbike in adventure touring clothing, there is no contest in this category of motorcycles with the Ducati Multistrada 1200 bagging the crown easily.
Superbike of the Year
With sound barrier shredding acceleration, dynamics to match and gorgeous lines penned by the late great Massimo Tamburini, our Superbike of the Year is none other than the MV Agusta F4.
Bike Maker of the Year
If anyone deserves this accolade it has to be Hero Moto Corp this year for successfully coming out of the shadows of an old partnership and proving to the world that Indian engineering prowess is at par with global standards, for investing in developing capability with a fantastic research and development centre and for putting India on the global motorsport map with a fabulous debut at the gruelling Dakar Rally.
Two-Wheeler of the Year
In a sea of launches there was one motorcycle that outdid every other product in terms of raising the bar in its category. Setting a new benchmark with its dynamic abilities and refined motor, the TVS Apache RTR 200 4V is our Two-Wheeler of the Year.

Other awards

Design of the Year
It is home grown and is funky enough to be a pop star. Without a doubt the award for the Design of the Year should go to none other than the Honda Navi.
Motorsport Award of the Year
He is the only man in the history of the FIA-APRC to win every single rally of the calendar and sweep the APRC World Championship title clean for a second time. He is also the only man ever to win every round of any FIA sanctioned series. He is also the winner of our Motorsport Award of the Year. He is Gaurav Gill.
Bikesport Award of the Year
“Indians are coming.” That’s what Anand Mahindra had said when Mahindra Racing lined up on the 125cc grid at Qatar in 2011. From then till now, they have moved into the Moto 3 category, notching up their first wins last year at Assen and Malaysia and followed it up with more podiums along the way. Powering no less than seven teams last year, Mahindra Racing surges ahead to pick up our Bikesport Award of the Year with its achievements in Moto 3.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Fast Bikes India