Marquez wins an exhilarating Malaysian GP

Marquez wins an exhilarating Malaysian GP

Abhishek Wairagade

70th victory for the seven time world champion couldn’t have been better. Repsol Honda’s star rider, Marquez started the race in seventh position after a six place grid penalty. However, the Spaniard made his way up the grid and locked horns with The Doctor, Valentino Rossi but it all ended in tears for the Movistar Yamaha rider after he crashed from the lead, with just four laps to go. Marc Marquez was followed to the chequered flag by Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) and Johanne Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3).

As the lights went out, Rossi managed to get a hole shot and took the lead while Zarco followed him closely. Jack Miller (Alma Pramac racing) leapfrogged Andrea Iannone into P3 while Marquez gained a position. The other Repsol Honda rider Dani Pedrosa and Marquez exchanged liveries at turn 15, before starting his way to make up positions up the grid. By lap 10, Rossi was leading comfortably while Zarco began to lose his tyres and Marquez was already in the second place with a comfortable lead of 1.1 seconds. Marquez had a moment at turn 5 but recovered well, before continuing his attack on Rossi.

However, it could’ve been Rossi’s victory after almost 26 races but the Italian crashed at C, with just four laps to go and lost the position after which Marquez led the race comfortably with a lead of over 4 seconds. The second position was being fought for between Zarco and Rins. The Suzuki’s pace was too much to handle for Zarco as they went into the final lap. They were followed by Vinales from Movistar Yamaha and Pedrosa (Repsol Honda). Dovizioso finished P6 and has now sealed the second position in the championship.

The Malaysian GP saw a battle the all time greats at the top and was and exciting race, unlike some of the previous GPs. The final race will be held at Valencia two weeks from now, so stay tuned for the action.

Fast Bikes India