Dakar 2019 kicks off in Peru with the ceremonial flag-off

Dakar 2019 kicks off in Peru with the ceremonial flag-off

The Dakar 2019 kicked off with a ceremonial flag-off on  January 6 in Lima, Peru. The 41st iteration of the world’s toughest rally will witness competitors battling it out under the scorching sun across a distance of 5000km spread over 10 stages with 3000km of special stages. This year’s route, unlike the previous year, will test the riders’ mettle and navigational skills over a vast chunk of sand dunes and will be only hosted in Peru.

This year’s rally will be the Sherco TVS Factory Rally Team’s fifth consecutive participation. Michael Metge (France), Adrian Metge (France), Lorenzo Santolina (Spain) with Aravind KP (India) who will be competing for the third time on the new Dakar-spec RTR 450 rally motorcycle. The team has trained in Morocco, Spain and France in the international race calendar on the improved motorcycle that boasts enhanced cooling systems and top speed.

Hero MotoSport Team Rally will be competing in this gruelling rally for the third time. Armed with the new Hero 450RR, the team, consisting of Oriol Mena (Competitor no. 7), C S Santosh (Competitor no. 50) and Joaquim Rodrigues (Competitor no. 27), who returned to the rally after intensive rehabilitation due to last years’ injuries, is confident about their prospects.

The first stage, starting today, will be a 247km stretch with a special of 84 km that will give the riders a taste of the sweltering temperatures of Pisco Valley.

Here is the route of the Dakar 2019

Stage 1: Lima to Pisco

Stage 2: Pisco to San Juan de Marcona

Stage 3: San Juan de Marcona to Arequipa

Stage 4: Arequipa to Moquegua

Stage 5: Moquegua to Arequipa

Stage 6: Arequipa to San Juan de Marcona

Stage 7: San Juan de Marcona to San Juan de Marcona

Stage 8: San Juan de Marcona to Pisco

Stage 9: Pisco to Pisco

Stage 10: Pisco to Lima

Stay tuned for more updates on Dakar 2019.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Fast Bikes India